Skip to product information
1 of 1

Grieves - The Collections Of Mr. Nice Guy (Preorder 05/01/24)

Grieves - The Collections Of Mr. Nice Guy (Preorder 05/01/24)

Regular price £14.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £14.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Grieves - The Collections Of Mr. Nice Guy

Label: - RSE297 - 0826257029737
Format: LP, Album, Translucent Teal
Country: UK
Released: 5th Jan 2024
Genre: Hip Hop
Style: Hip Hop

Following the release of his Running Wild album, Grieves let loose a flurry of new music, surprising and delighting fans with fresh new singles each week. He was able to express his growth and hunger in this new work, as the content and production ranged from light-hearted and jazzy to intense and introspective. After releasing a string of five standalone singles he compiled them all onto one sensational project with three additional unreleased tracks, and introduced it as The Collections of Mr. Nice Guy.

The Collections of Mr. Nice Guy showcased a wide range of Grieves lyrical expression, as well as his production talents. On “Perspective”, Grieves waxes about the hypocritical standards musicians often face, while “Let The Devil In” addresses the demons he grapples with personally, rapping: “That shadow on my shoulder weighs a ton, y’all pretend like my experience with hell was just for fun (nah).” On the lighter side, Grieves invites Chris Webby to trade bars back & forth on “Man Down”, where the pair go on to skewer less-than-stellar MCs holding space in the industry. Meanwhile, “I’ll Be Better” delivers a melan- choly reflection on the tropes of heartbreak, letting go of the old and making room for the new. At once, The Collections of Mr. Nice Guy stands at the intersection of all things fans that have historically drawn fans to Grieves - truthful and relatable lyricism over soulful synths and drums.

View full details